100 for 2009


Posted on December 21, 2009, in Year-End Countdowns. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Kinda sad at the lack of rock, no Use Somebody, New Divide, Kings and Queens, Panic Switch, Uprising etc. I do enjoy most of the songs in the countdown not to say that all of the above belong, but some shold have atleast been given more consideration.

    • i appreciate the comment! just wanted to let u know how it all happens for my year end countdowns, i rip my plays from my iTunes and take the most played songs.. I like Kings of Leon, and Linkin Park, and Muse, etc, and they’ve been on my weekly lists, just didn’t make my year end even though I consider myself to be ecleptic, i just have a considerably strong lean towards the popish, and hiphopish lean.. next year you should throw me some suggestions! thanks again for the comment!

  2. I think that the countdown would have been more diverse if you had implemented some type of inverse point system as the methodology of the year-end countdown. By doing that, it would’ve completely evened the playing field and cut down discrepancies between the amount of plays (points) the number one got in one week and the amount in a different week.

    • So instead of a play by play, you suggest a point by chart week type ranking system? If so I don’t think that’s a bad idea, and i think I could include that in the workings of next year’s ending playlist. For example, your saying that a songs who are 1 and 2 on the weekly countdowns should mostly be the ones included in the year-end one, correct?

  3. In a way, yes. To further explain, such a chart would us a point system in which the #1 song in any given week would receive 51 pts, #2 – 50 pts, #3 – 49,… #50 – 1 pt (based on a 50 position chart). As the year progresses, the points pile on and by the end of the year, the top 100 songs will be clear and should be evenly dispersed (without any bias to any given week where you just spazzed out and played one song a million times).

  4. Yeah, that seems like a good idea.

Leave a comment